Multiple Teams · Seydel 2017 Gatorade POY


Paul S.



CHICAGO (June 12, 2017) — In its 32nd year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Paul Seydel of Lakeridge High School as its 2016-17 Gatorade Oregon Boys Soccer Player of the Year. Seydel is the second Gatorade Oregon Boys Soccer Player of the Year to be chosen from Lakeridge High School. The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Seydel as Oregon’s best high school boys soccer player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Soccer Player of the Year award to be announced in June, Seydel joins an elite alumni association of past state soccer award-winners, including Alexi Lalas (1987-88, Cranbrook HS, Mich.), Steve Cherundolo (1996-97, Mt. Carmel HS, Calif.), Abby Wambach (1997-98, Our Lady of Mercy, N.Y.), Heather O’Reilly (2001-02, 2002-03, East Brunswick HS, N.J.), Matt Besler (2004-04, Blue Valley West HS, Kans.), Jack Harrison (2013-14, Berkshire HS, Mass.), Mallory Pugh (2014-15, Mountain Vista HS, Colo.).

The 5-foot-8, 120-pound senior midfielder led the Pacers to a 16-0-3 record and the Class 6A state championship this past season. Seydel scored 26 goals and passed for one of his 13 assists in Lakeridge’s 3-2, penalty-kick win over McMinnville High School in the state final. With seven goals and three assists, he had a direct hand in 10 of the Pacers’ 12 postseason goals and was named the Oregonian’s Class 6A State Player of the Year.

An accomplished singer who competes statewide as a member of two choirs, Seydel has volunteered locally as a peer tutor and as a youth soccer coach. “Paul was exceptional and he tore us apart when we played against Lakeridge,” said Fraser Morrison, head coach of Lake Oswego High School. “His pace combined with his movement made him very difficult to deal with.”

Seydel has maintained a 3.76 GPA in the classroom. He has signed a national letter of intent to play soccer on scholarship at Concordia University in Portland, OR., beginning this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport.

The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport. Seydel joins recent Gatorade Oregon Boys Soccer Players of the Year Stuart Aeschliman (2015-16, West Salem High School), Gio Magana (2014-15, Hood River Valley High School), Antonio Porreco (2013-14, Jesuit High School), Eddie Sanchez (2012-13, Canby High School), Jaime Velasco (2011-12, Westview High School), Jake Bishop (2010–11, Jesuit High School), Thomas Iwasaki (2009-10, Lake Oswego High School), Jonathan Flores (2008–09, McMinnville High School), Chilo Rivera (2007-08, Glencoe High School), and Frankie Lopez (2006-07, McMinnville High School) among the state’s list of former award winners.

As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Paul will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a $1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional $10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants – one for each sport – will be announced throughout the year. To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit